Current Award winners

  Sarah Bänziger.jpeg Sarah Bänziger research award 2017: Quantifying and explaining the decline in the occupancy of fire salamander populationsmore

Matthias Tschumi prix pour la recherche 2016: Flowering Habitats to Enhance Biodiversity and Pest Control Services in Agricultural Landscapes more

Esther Schweizer & Manuel Frei prix pour la recherche 2015: Space use of natterjack toads in agricultural areas more

Alain Reymond prix pour la recherche 2014: Ecologie et conservation d’une métapopulation de Cuivré de la Bistorte more

H&W Research Award

 

On occasion of the company’s 20th anniversary in 2003, Hintermann & Weber created an award to honor applied research in nature and landscape conservation. With funding for nature conservation research reduced to a drizzle these days, many concrete questions still remain unanswered, while the results of pure research frequently find little practical use in nature conservation.

For this reason, H&W is intent on promoting applied research in nature conservation – not least because the activity of environmental counseling experts relies on practical insights. So, in order to celebrate 20 years of excellence, the renowned Reinach-based company decided to father an annual award for outstanding original research of particular usefulness in hands-on nature conservation.

Endowed with 5000 Swiss francs, the award recognizes the efforts of researchers whose insights lend themselves to immediate implementation in nature and landscape conservation. The award winner is selected by a jury of five, among them two H&W employees and Isabelle Flöss of the regional office of landscape, agriculture and environment of Zurich, René Amstutz of of Switzerland’s leading nature conservation organization pro natura and Valentin Amrhein of the Research Station  Petite Camargue Alsacienne.

Aktuelle PreisträgerInnen

Matthias Tschumi Forschungspreis 2016: Blühende Lebensräume fördern die Biodiversität und die biologische Schädlingskontrolle in der Landwirtschaft mehr

Esther Schweizer & Manuel Frei Forschungspreis 2015: Lebensraum und Gefährdung der Kreuzkröte im landwirt-schaftlich stark genutzten oberen Suhrental mehr

Alain Reymond Forschungspreis 2014: Ökologie und Schutz einer Metapopulation des Blauschillernden Feuerfalters mehr

H&W-Forschungspreis

 

2003 hat die Hintermann & Weber AG anlässlich ihres 20-jährigen Firmenjubiläums einen Preis für die praktische Forschung im Natur- und Landschaftsschutz ins Leben gerufen. Die Forschungsgelder für den Naturschutz fliessen heute spärlich, daher blieben bislang viele praktische Fragen unbeantwortet, andererseits haben zahlreiche Resultate der Grundlagenforschung wenig Nutzen für den Naturschutz.

Die Hintermann & Weber AG will deshalb die praktische Forschung im Naturschutz fördern – nicht zuletzt auch, weil das Ökobüro in seiner Tätigkeit auf solche Erkenntnisse zurückgreift. Zum 20-jährigen Firmenbestehen hat das renommierte Reinacher Unternehmen beschlossen, einen Preis für eine herausragende, originelle und besonders praxistaugliche Arbeit zu vergeben.

Der Preis ist mit 5000 Franken dotiert und bedeutet eine Anerkennung für Forscherinnen und Forscher, deren Erkenntnisse im Natur- und Landschaftsschutz direkt umgesetzt werden können. Über die Vergabe entscheidet eine 5-köpfige Jury, der neben zwei Mitarbeitern von H&W auch Isabelle Flöss von der Abteilung Landschaft und Gewässer des Kantons Aargau, René Amstutz von Pro Natura und Valentin Amrhein von der Forschungsstation Petite Camargue Alsacienne angehören.